The Real World Project

Just another WordPress.com weblog

The Real World Project

leave a comment »

Having been brought up in Canada, I decided, rather uncermoniously in 2002, to return to my roots and start up a new life here. Unfortunately, or fortunately, I didn’t realise I was jumping into a black hole which had very little chances of escape. I did get an MBA here, and I’ve worked a couple of places since. But honestly, nothing here appeals to me. I’m not saying I don’t like Pakistan. It’s my home, so I have to like it. In any case, several years have passed since my immigration to Pakistan and in these years, I have learnt far more about The Real World then I sought out to.

The Real World Project is a side project of mine based on my observations of the world we live in. The concept is that by dividing ourselves into various disciplines, we have created a situation for ourselves where we have a great understanding of everything that relates to our own discipline, but very little ability to put it into the context of the greater world we live in. The Real World Project is a thought process, not unlike the Butterfly Effect, but not based on chaos. The Real World Project is the desire to think about and post about the broader implications of supposedly insignificant things. Insignificant like the under-lying racism in something like taking pictures of a rickshaw driver and calling it exotic.

Hopefully over time this blog will grow and will become a part of not just mine, but other people’s lives as well.

Thank You for reading.

Moderator,

Jawwad Riaz

Written by jawwadriaz

December 12, 2008 at 1:33 PM

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment